Mexican Fiesta – Chicken Enchiladas and Nachos

Ok, so I have to admit that I cheated a little yesterday. I wanted mexican for dinner and so did Matt. But he wanted something specific, which I’d already made before. I made chicken enchiladas and nachos and boy were they tasty! They definitely made up for my too-sweet-to-eat salsa from Friday! The chicken enchiladas is from a recipe my mom used to cook for my family quite often and I believe she got it from one of her best friends, Kara, a woman she worked with for many, many years. I’ve made this a handfull of times and it’s always a hit. It’s really easy and it doesn’t require a ton of ingredients.  Here’s the recipe/directions:

Chicken Enchiladas

  • 1/2 chopped yellow onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 small cans of red enchilada sauce (I use Old El Paso, mild)
  • 3 chicken breasts
  • blend of cheeses

First of all I boil the chicken and while that’s going, I chop up the onion and garlic and throw it on to a frying pan coated with cooking spray. Mix the garlic and onion around until they’re lightly browning. When chicken is done, cut up into small strips. Add chicken and 1 can of enchilada sauce to onion and garlic mixture. Simmer on low for about 10 minutes, stirring often. Scoop a spoonful of the mixture into a soft tortilla shell, add some cheese and then roll up. Add filled tortillas to a glass baking pan (coated with cooking spray first). Once all tortillas are in baking pan, pour the 2nd can of sauce on top and then sprinkle with cheese. Cover with foil and then bake at about 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

I also made some yummy nachos as an apetizer. Easy and tasty.

Nachos

  • Tortilla chips
  • 1/c can of black beans
  • 1 chopped tomato
  • 1/2 chopped red pepper, yellow pepper, orange pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped up banana peppers
  • 1/3 cup chopped red onion
  • 1 cup mixed mexican cheeses
  • sour cream and salsa to taste

This is really easy… Just layer a cooking sheet with your chips. Sprinkle with cheese. Add a 1/2 can of black beans (after draining the juice). Chop up your peppers, tomatoes and onion and layer them evenly across your chips. Chop your banana peppers and layer across evenly. Add another layer of cheese to the platter. Put cooking sheet in oven at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes. Just until the cheese is melted. Take out and sprinkle with salsa and sour cream.

I didn’t get to the stuffed peppers I was going to attempt. I figured we’d have enough to eat with the enchiladas and nachos and the peppers looked like they’d sat a day or 2 too long. Next time I get a craving for some mexican food though – stuffed peppers and guacamole galore!

Forgot to snap a picture of the meal. Hopefully you can picture the tasty treat all on your own!

This entry was posted in Mexican. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment